EU flags at the European Commission headquarters in Brussels, Belgium | Photo: ANSA/Olivier Hoslet
EU flags at the European Commission headquarters in Brussels, Belgium | Photo: ANSA/Olivier Hoslet

Eighteen EU countries and three associated countries have agreed on a 'temporary mechanism of solidarity' to respond to migration challenges faced by Mediterranean member states.

Eighteen member states, including Italy, and three associated countries, have adopted a declaration on the implementation of a temporary mechanism of solidarity to respond to migration-related difficulties faced by countries on the Mediterranean, the French presidency of the EU Council said on Wednesday (June 22).

The solidarity mechanism will mean that asylum seekers will be allocated to a member State after they have been registered in a country of first entry. Countries that do not accept the mechanism will contribute either financially or by providing personnel to manage borders.

States to commit on reallocation

The agreement defines an annual quota of reallocation to guarantee the mechanism's predictability. Each member state should present a pledge on reallocations, with a certain target based on GDP and the population.

The statement allows other signatory states to express preferences on reallocations, based on criteria such as nationality and vulnerability.

If a state chooses to make direct financial contributions, the Commission will determine where the financial contribution will be allocated. Each participating state will be assigned a minimum contribution.

Along with France and Italy, the agreement was signed by Germany, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Spain, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Romania, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Poland, Hungary, Austria, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden have not adhered to the statement.

On June 27, a meeting organized by the Commission, in coordination with the French presidency of the EU Council, will be held on the platform of solidarity, with the objective of quickly implementing this mechanism.

EU ambassadors have already reached agreements on Eurodac regulations and screening. With these agreements and the declaration on the mechanism of solidarity, the French presidency took the first steps in the gradual implementation of the EU Migration Pact presented by the Commission in September 2020.


More articles